Flickr: Tags

Tags are labels that you add to your photos, to make them findable for yourself and for others. You can add tags your own pictures or to your friend's pictures (if your friends allow it in the privacy settings for their photos). In FlickStackr you can create new tags or remove them, you can tag photos one at a time (with the Modify button in Details view), or you can add tags to a batch of photos. You can also browse photos via tags.

Viewing Tags

You can view the a list of all your tags, in the account's Tag screen. In the Tags screen you tap on a tag to view all your photos that have this tag.

When viewing your photos or others photos, you can view the photo's tags. Go to Details view and tap on the Main tab at the bottom of the screen (Tags tab on iPhone). If you tap on the tag you will be taken to all the photos with the same tag.

Tagging

When you are adding tags to photos, FlickStackr shows the existing Tags organized in a list divided in 3 sections (Current Tags, Other Recent Tags and Popular Tags), where you can drag up and down to scroll and see all the tags in the list.

Current Tags

These are the tags that any of the selected photos already have. The green check mark next to the tag indicates that all the selected photos have that tag. The grey check mark indicates that some of the photos selected have that tag. If you tap on a tag with a green check mark it will change to a red X to indicate that the tag will be removed from all the selected photos. If you tap on a tag with a grey check mark it will first change to a green check mark, to indicate that now all the photos will have that tag, if you tap again the green check mark will change to a red X to indicate that the tag will be removed from all the photos selected, if you tap again the red check mark will go back to the grey check mark to indicate that nothing will change.

Other Recent Tags

These are the tags that you have created from FlickStackr, that are not in the popular tags. When you tap on a tag in the other recent tags, a green check mark will appear to indicate that this tag will be added to all the photos selected . If you tap again on the same tag the green check mark will disappear, the tag will not be added to the selected photos.

Deleting Other Recent Tags

If you have many tags, or tags that you don't use anymore,you can delete them from your iPad or iPhone; deleting them does not affect your tags in Flickr. The tags are only deleted from your device, they will continue to exist in Flickr. To delete a tag from other recent tags:

  1. Slide your finger over the tag you wish to remove.
  2. A delete button will appear. To make the delete button disappear just slide your finger over the tag again.
  3. Tap on the delete button to delete the tag.

Popular Tags

These are your 30 popular tags. Looking at the tags you have used in all your photos Flickr selects the 30 most popular. The tags with a green check mark indicate that all the photos selected have that tag, tags with a grey check mark indicates that some of the selected photos have that tag. If you tap on a tag with a green check mark it will change to a red X to indicate that this tag will be removed from all the selected photos. If you tap on a tag with a gray check mark the tag will change to green to indicate that all the photos selected will have that tag, if you tap again the green check mark will change to a red X to indicate that the tag will be removed from all the photos, if you tap again the red check mark will go back to the gray check mark, so nothing will change.

Adding tags to one or several photos

To add tags:

  1. Make sure you are viewing your photostream , set or collection in list view or thumbnail view.
  2. Tap on the Edit button that appears in the top toolbar. You are now in Edit mode, notice the 3 buttons that appear at the bottom of the screen that allows you to Delete or Modify the selected photos or Toggle your Selection.
  3. Tap on the photos you wish to add a tag. (If you need to invert your selection tap on Toggle Selection)
  4. Once you have selected all the photos you want to tag, tap on the Modify button that appears at the bottom of the screen, the Modify Photos screen appears.
  5. In the Modify Photos screen you can batch modify title, caption, sets, groups, permissions and rotation.
  6. To add tags to your photos, tap on the Main tab (Tags tap on iPhone)
  7. Tagging with existing tags: In the Tags area you can select existing tags from Other Recent Tags or Popular Tags, by tapping on the tag. You can drag up and down the tags to scroll up or down and see all the existing tags. Selected tags will have a green check mark
  8. Tagging with a new tag: If you want to add a new tag, enter the tag and tap on Save.
  9. When you have finished tagging your photos tap on Save, and you are back to list view or thumbnails view.
  10. A screen with the progress of the updates will appear, when all the photos have been updated  you are back to list view or thumbnails view.

Removing tags from one or multiple photos

To remove tags :

  1. Make sure you are viewing your photostream , set or collection in list view or thumbnail view.
  2. Tap on the Edit button that appears in the top toolbar. You are now in Edit mode, notice the 3 buttons that appear at the bottom of the screen that allows you to Delete or Modify the selected photos or Toggle your Selection.
  3. Tap on the photos you wish to remove tags from. (If you need to invert your selection tap on Toggle Selection)
  4. Once you have selected all the photos, tap on the Modify button that appears at the bottom of the screen, the Modify Photos screen appears.
  5. In the Modify Photos screen  you can batch modify title, caption, sets, groups, permissions and rotation.
  6. To remove tags from your photos, tap on the Main tab (Tags tab on iPhone)
  7. The tags that are currently used by the photos you selected appear either as a grey or green check marks.
  8. Tap on tags with either the green or grey check marks that you want to remove, the check marks will change to an X to indicate that the tag will be removed from he selected photos.
  9. When you have finished removing tag  tap on Save, and you are back to list view or thumbnails view.
  10. A screen with the progress of the updates will appear, when all the photos have been updated  you are back to list view or thumbnails view.
Last updated June 7, 2013

Feedback and Knowledge Base